Danielle
A New Year Brings New Plays to NJ

Madison, NJ — Writers Theatre of New Jersey’s annual Soundings reading series will kick off on January 2 with Pulitzer Prize nominee, Joe Sutton, sharing his latest play, “The Patriot,” at the Dreyfuss Theatre on the Madison campus of Fairleigh Dickinson University. The series will run through January 15, showcasing one new play each night, and will feature plays from Kilroy Award winner, Donna Hoke; Emmy winner, Hal Corley; and eleven other talented writers. There will be a discussion after each performance where the audience is invited to talk with the playwright and the director about the play.
This year’s plays are:
Tuesday, January 2 – “The Patriot” by Joe Sutton
Wednesday, January 3 – “Like Saltwater” by Pia Wilson
Thursday, January 4 – “Nichiiwad” by Hal Corley
Friday, January 5 – “Hurricane Colleen” by Tammy Ryan
Saturday, January 6 – “And Their Sons, Too…” by Seth Rozin
Sunday, January 7 – “Encounters” by Yasmine Rana
Monday, January 8 – “Memoirs of a Forgotten Man” by D.W. Gregory
Tuesday, January 9 – “Teach” by Donna Hoke
Wednesday, January 10 – “Wolf at the Door” by Richard Dresser
Thursday, January 11 – “Redux” by Rob Zellers
Friday, January 12 – “Ghost Story” by Lia Romeo
Saturday, January 13 – “The Excavation of Mary Anning” by Ian August
Sunday, January 14 – “The Real Story” by Robert Clyman
Monday, January 15 – “Branwell (and the other Brontës): an autobiography edited by Charlotte Brontë” by Stephen Kaplan

Soundings will be held at Fairleigh Dickinson University’s Dreyfuss Theatre, on the university’s Madison, New Jersey campus, and each performance will begin promptly at 7 PM. The readings are free with a suggested donation of $10 or you can purchase a Soundings pass for $25, which gets you into all fourteen readings.
For more information on the individual plays and playwrights and for tickets, please visit the theatre’s Soundings page by clicking here.
For more information on any of Writers Theatre’s programs, please visit www.wtnj.org or contact Writers Theatre at P.O. Box 1295, Madison, NJ, 07940, 973-514-1787 x20 or info@wtnj.org.
For more information click here: http://ift.tt/2B0lbg4

Be Sociable, Share!

    No Comments Yet You can be the first to comment!

    Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.